January 24, 2011

Deceptively Delicious begins

Posted in Deceptively Delicious, Mmmmmmm fooooood tagged , , at 4:06 pm by mottoblasco

I did it.  I have made several of the recipes from my Deceptively Delicious cookbook.  And I’m loving it.

My first venture was a big-un.  I went for Jerry’s Cinnamon Buns(w/ carrot & cauliflower).  The buns were good, I’d make them again for sure.  The icing was lacking…I will have to tinker w/ this one.  My little miss thought it was applesauce poured on top…although she did eat it all! BUT I have to commend her for making some Cinnamon Buns w/ 1/10th the fat & calories of a regular one.  Kudos.

I next made a few easy ones like Grilled Cheese(w/ squash or sweet potatoes) & the kids don’t notice anything different.  I’ve made it a couple times w/out the kids 🙂  And also one of her versions of Mac & Cheese(w/ garbanzo beans), this didn’t go over as well.  The beans had a strong flavor but maybe a different bean would work better?  I’ll let you know 🙂

My last recipe tried was Fettucine Alfredo(w/ cauliflower).  Can I give it a true rating cause I didn’t follow the recipe ‘exactly as written’?  I dunno but, it was pretty good.  It called for Mozzarella & Parmesan.  Now I LUV Alfredo sauce, the good stuff full of fat & flavor.  But this was a good starting point for a healthier version AND with the added benefits of the veggie puree(of which I could not taste the cauliflower AT ALL).

UPDATE: I make Grilled cheese w/ squash or sweet potatoes almost every time now.

Leave a Reply

