August 25, 2010

To school or not to school…

Posted in Home-schooling tagged , , at 2:16 pm by mottoblasco

I know the debates of do I send them to school/ pre-school or do I keep them home & try this homeschooling thing.  My husband & I are pretty set on homeschooling, but realize that it might not be for everyone…such a shame.  I used to worry that homeschooling would lend itself to children who can’t socialize well with peers, but those days are long gone.  There are so many different homeschooling groups that plan activities on a regular basis that we can get involved with.  I also recently heard that since we will pay for school taxes, unless law says otherwise, they should be able to play school sports, which will be nice in about 6 years(if laws don’t get changed).

As we have begun to search out what it will take to homeschool we are finding so many more options out there than just school-at-home.  There is homeschooling, there is online based homeschooling, media based homeschooling, there is online based public schooling, charter schools, etc.  But we have strong values/ religious beliefs and the public schools will not teach our kids those things, so we will not send them to public schools or charter schools…that much we know.

We are at the beginning of the process so we have much to learn but are so excited with what an adventure we are embarking on!  If you are embarking on this road please let me know, we can’t wait to begin 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. Faith Wolfe said,

    I had no idea you werethinking this at all! My dear friend, that is our plan too! Can’t tell you how thrilled I am to embark on this journey with such a dear friend! I have some favorite blogs, besides yours, that are Christian women homeschooling. And one of them just started with her little preschooler. I’d love to talk with you about all i have learned so far! I went to my first homeschool conference/seminar. Loved it and it it stands for! /

  2. Mary Yerkes said,

    Hi I think we attended Normandy Sr. High. I graduated in ’96, my maiden name was “Virgin”. Anyway, I live in Florida now with my husband, and two children, Lori 8 and Frank 4 mos. We homeschool and use the Abeka curriculum. Feel free to email me.

    • mottoblasco said,

      I think I do remember you. I taught preschool for a couple years and we used the Abeka then. I’ll have to check it out again, I’m sure they’ve changed stuff since then. And thanks, I’ll keep you in mind when we start having more questions.

  3. the public schools on our district can really give some good education to young kids. they have high standards .,:

  4. Shaylyn Duarte said,

    I’m homeschooling my oldest daughter Malia. Although she is only 5, it is a lot of work. We’re Classical method of teaching. We integrate the bible in all studies. The bible is the foundation to all the other subjects we’re learning. If you want more info let me know. Here in California we are very blessed to be able to homeschool our kids while the state pays for it. Although we can’t order religious curriculum, you can still purchase curriculum that focuses on the Classical methods. I also buy curriculum from Veritas Press because again there focus is on Classical Education.

    Besides homeschooling, Malia attends Classical Conversations. They are known throughout the U.S. Again, the focus is on the Classical ways of teaching.

    My two other daughters are 4 and 3 years old. They attend our church preschool which focuses on academics. The goal by the end of preschool for the 3s is that they will know all of there alphabet sounds (phonics) and by the end of the 4s preschool, they will know how to read 3-4 letter words. Of course they are learning colors, shapes, patterns, but most of all they get to learn about the bible and about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.

    Homeschooling is hard because you just have some days where you clash with your daughter/student. Some days we’re lucky if we get our reading done. But it is so rewarding when what you’ve taught them is retained and they are talking or teaching someone else what they learned.

    I never thought I would be homeschooling, but living in California and wanting the bible to be your foundation of your children’s lives is the best way to do it. Some people say it’s not for everyone, but I believe that God guides me through the day and guides me through everything that my child needs to learn.

    One more thing!! When you have a supportive husband who helps you as well and is 110% there for you, it is so helpful. When I’m having trouble he definitely helps me figure out another way of going about what I’m trying to teach or how to get my point across.


Leave a Reply

